What to do in Atlanta: Performing arts | March 30-April 6

Actor's Express presents the first full production of "Serial Black Face," a play set against the backdrop of the Atlanta child murders of the late '70s and early '80s. For some lighter entertainment, the Fox Theatre has the touring production of "Kinky Boots," featuring the music of Cyndi Lauper.

“Into the Woods.” Through April 17. $30-$65. Aurora Theatre, 136 W. Pike St., Lawrenceville. www.auroratheatre.com. Read our review of the show here.

“Galapagos George, The Little Tortoise That Could.” Through April 3. $20.50. Center for Puppetry Arts, 1404 Spring St. N.W., Atlanta. www.puppet.org.

“Hail Mary.” Through April 17. $15-$30. Stage Door Players, North DeKalb Cultural Arts Center, 5339 Chamblee-Dunwoody Road, Dunwoody. 770-396-1726, www.stagedoorplayers.net.

“Carousel." Through April 10. 8 p.m. Wednesdays-Sundays; 2:30 p.m. April 3 and 10. $30-$35. The Inn Meadow at Serenbe, 10950 Hutcheson Ferry Road, Chattahoochee Hills. 770-463-1110, www.serenbeplayhouse.com. Read our review here.

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Father admits to punching man who tried to get into daughter’s p
  2. 2 Festivals - AJC Things to Do - Atlanta Festivals, Events, Movies
  3. 3 Atlanta TV listings

“Ethel.” Through April 17. $20-$39. Alliance Theatre’s Hertz Stage, 1280 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. alliancetheatre.org.

“Kinky Boots.” Through April 3. $30-$150. Fox Theatre, 660 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. foxtheatre.orgRead our preview of the show here.

“Serial Black Face.” Previews March 31, April 1; opens April 2 and runs through April 24. $20-$43. Actor’s Express at the King Plow Arts Center, 887 West Marietta St. N.W., Suite J-107, Atlanta. www.actors-express.com. Read our preview of the play, which is set against the backdrop of the Atlanta child murders of the late '70s and early '80s.

“Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.” 6:30 p.m. March 31. $17-$47. Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, 2800 Cobb Galleria Parkway, Atlanta. www.cobbenergycentre.com.

“As You Like It.” Theater Emory presents all-female and all-male productions of Shakespeare’s comedy in repertory. March 31-April 10. $18-$22. Mary Gray Munroe Theater at Dobbs University Center, 605 Asbury Circle, Atlanta. theater.emory.edu.

“The Book of Genesis” and “Jesus of Nazareth.” Presented by Bill Oberst Jr.  March 31-April 3. $23-$27. Art Station, 5384 Manor Drive, Stone Mountain. www.artstation.org.

“Sex With Strangers.” April 1-May 1. $25-$35. Horizon Theatre Company, 1083 Austin Ave. N.E., Atlanta. www.horizontheatre.com.

“Desigining Women Live, Volume 10.” April 1-10. $25. OnStage Atlanta, 2969 East Ponce de Leon Ave., Decatur. www.onstageatlanta.com.

“Menopause the Musical.” Apr. 1-3. $35-$65. Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, 2800 Cobb Galleria Parkway, Atlanta. www.cobbenergycentre.com.

Vicki Lawrence and Mama. 8 p.m. April 2. $40. Anderson Theatre, Cobb County Civic Center, 548 S. Marietta Parkway S.E., Marietta. www.ticketmaster.com. Read our preview of Lawrence's show here.

Festival of Laughs with Mike Epps, Sommore, Gary Owen, Tommy Davidson and Bruce Bruce. 8 p.m. April 2. $56-$179. Philips Arena, 1 Philips Drive N.W., Atlanta. www.philipsarena.com.

“You’re A Good Man, Charlie Brown.” Presented by Agape Players. 2 and 7:30 p.m. April 2. $15-$20. Infinite Energy Theater, 6400 Sugarloaf Parkway, Duluth. www.infiniteenergycenter.com.

Paula Poundstone. 7 and 9:30 p.m. April 2. $35-$40. Variety Playhouse, 1099 Euclid Ave. N.E., Atlanta. www.variety-playhouse.com.

More from Accessatlanta